Rustic Cheddar Apple Pie

May 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

Memeorial Day isn’t just an added day to our weekend; it’s a time to remember our fallen heros and spend time with those we love. Since the weather hasn’t been all that great and a BBQ wasn’t in the works this year I decided to stick close to traditions and make an Apple Pie. What’s more traditional (or American) than an Apple Pie? With a little extra time this weekend I went above and beyond and combined two recipes to make the perfect Rustic Cheddar Apple Pie. I started with a Gluten Free Pie crust (recipe here) and combined it with Anne Thornton’s Cheddar Cheese Apple Pie (recipe here). I first tried Anne’s recipe last Thanksgiving and it looked so delicious and received such rave reviews from my family that I decided to take it to the next level and make it gf so I could enjoy it as well. To make things a little easier I made the crust freeform (more like a tart). Using the two recipes turned out Ah-Ma-Zing, if I do say so myself. Sometimes a little extra work and love are totally worth it.

Enjoy the day off work with your friends and family and don’t forget to take a moment to thank those who have and currently do serve our country.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rustic Cheddar Apple Pie at Cookies, Couture & Cardio.

meta

