Easter Egg Cake Bites

April 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

Ok, so before I get started, I know Easter has come and gone and again, I know that some of you may have appreciated this post before the festivities took place. So forgive me for being WAY too busy and committing to WAY too many things. If you like these treats, change their shape and use them at your next gathering or save this idea for next year. Either way, these turned out too cute not to share.

Cake Pops and Cake Bites are all the rage these days. They are showing up everywhere including your local Starbucks and Bakerella is an entire blog dedicated to these sinful little bites (check them out they have some of the cutest ideas for treats I have ever seen). Since these are popping up everywhere (and are never gluten-free) I decided to make some of my own and why not in the shape of Easter Eggs. All you need is: 1 cake mix (I used Betty Crocker gf vanilla cake, but use whatever you fancy), 1 160z can of store bought frosting (I used Vanilla, but again, get what you like), 2 bags of chocolate melting discs in any color and sprinkles.

Step 1: Bake your cake as the box or recipe directs.

Step 2: Let the cake cool slightly and them crumble it into a large mixing bowl.

Step 3: Add entire can of frosting and combine until cake is moist.

Step 4: Shape cake balls and put in the freezer until ready to dip in chocolate. Once balls are dipped you can store them in the fridge or an airtight container until you are ready to serve.

Again, sorry for the delay on this post. We did Easter at our house this year and I just couldn’t pull this off before hand. I really hope you enjoy these delightful bites. I guarantee when you serve them you won’t hear any complaints, well you might once they are all gone:)

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Easter Egg Cake Bites at Cookies, Couture & Cardio.

meta

