Horizontal Sunshine

April 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

I have a small powder bathroom in my home that is quite narrow and hard to decorate. With tight space and simple design, I have had a hard time decorating it and being content with any decisions. You wouldn’t normally think such a small space would cause so much trouble but this room has been a source of annoyance for me. I have been looking through magazines and blogs to get some ideas and it came to me that I needed some sunshine in this room and it was only going to come from a DIY project. I’ve been known to make my own artwork in my house and this was one of those times that I knew I could get the job done and be happy with the outcome.

This room is painted a soft Toffee color with white and stainless steel accessories. I decided the best way to add some color and dimension would be to do a painting using a Chevron pattern. I went to Home Depot and purchased a piece of quarter inch veneer plywood, a few painting supplies and the paint color of my choice. I happened to have some white paint at the house from a previous project so I only needed to purchase a sample size jar of Behr Bicycle Yellow. As you can see from the pictures, I painted the wood white and then made a simple stencil to outline the lines I wanted. After I traced the stencil I was able to fill them in with the yellow. This was a very simple and totally inexpensive project. I’m pleased with the outcome and think it really gives the bathroom some much needed character.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Horizontal Sunshine at Cookies, Couture & Cardio.

meta

