Struck Gold

January 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

When you find something good, don’t keep it a secret. These are words I live by; and to be true to my word I must let everyone know about the AH-MA-ZING workout I had this morning. When the weekend finally rolls around the last thing I want to do is get up early on Saturday and go to the gym. Since I have a day job and teach group exercise classes at night, I am pretty tired by the end of the week. I like to get in one good workout on either Saturday or Sunday and I usually do this at home or outside.

Last night I stopped by the store to pick up a few things and as I was walking past the fitness section I saw workout DVDs by Jillian Michaels. Now I know Jillian is not everyones cup of tea but I decided for $9 I would get one of her workouts and give it a try (get it here). This DVD consists of 7 circuits that require no gym equipment, just your body weight. I burned just over 800 calories following this workout (here is the heart rate monitor I wear)*.

Jillian Michaels has an array of workout DVDs and exercise equipment available. It’s always nice to have options and variety when it comes to working out so if you are looking to change things up a bit, give this a try.

* Calorie burn will vary for everyone. I followed the DVD as instructed by pushing myself to do as many repetitions as possible for each exercise; performing them faster than Jillian. Only increase your intensity if you can do so without sacrificing good form. Proper form will create good results no matter how fast you go.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Struck Gold at Cookies, Couture & Cardio.

meta

