Birds of a Feather

January 17, 2011 § 1 Comment

Feather Necklace

Even though every magazine currently on the news stand is advertising spring looks I am standing my ground and not jumping ahead of the season. I’ve embraced looks that fit in with the rainy Northwest weather we’ve been having. I’m wearing a lot of cardigans and long sleeve tops with statement necklaces to give them a more glamorous and elegant feel. One of my favorite ways to add embellishment to any top is a Feather Collar (here and here are  the looks that started my obsession). Since a full Feather Collar is a little much for an everyday look, I decided to put my craft skills to the test and make my own Feather Necklace. The best part is it cost me less than $15!

To make this feather necklace I used: a piece of black felt, 3 inch black ribbon, one package of black feathers, one Hackle pad of ombre feathers, medium jewel beads (amount will vary depending on design and shape), glue gun and jewel bond glue.

I started by using a bib necklace and traced its form to create the base design for my necklace (here are directions to create a bib necklace and get a similar pattern). I then created a layout with the beads and used jewel bond glue to adhere them onto the strip of felt. This is the trim for my necklace.

After gluing the beads, I cut another piece of felt similar to the first one. I took the ombre Hackle pad and separated the feathers. Since these feathers were longer I glued them onto the felt first and then used the black feathers to fill in spaces that were bare.

Once all the glue had dried, I bonded 12 inches of ribbon on each end of the felt with the beads (this is how the necklace is secured when wearing it). This piece was then glued on top of the feathers covering the edges of the feathers and any glue.

Here is my finished product. I think it turned out pretty well if I do say so myself.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Birds of a Feather

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Birds of a Feather at Cookies, Couture & Cardio.

meta

