Holiday Caramels

December 9, 2010 § 2 Comments

Fleur de Sel Caramels

During the Holidays, I like to try new recipes to make and give as gifts. I went out on a limb this year and put my candy making skills to the test by making Fleur De Sel Caramels (recipe here). I’ll admit my first batch came out more like Werther’s original hard candy than soft, chewy caramels. But with a little patience perfection was accomplished. I must say, there is absolutely nothing better than a piece of soft, chewy, creamy homemade caramel to make it feel like the holidays. My husband was my official taste tester and he says all recipients of my decadent treats will approve.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Holiday Caramels

  • Tresha says:

    Is there a recipe? I tried my grandma’s recipe which is from her memory and i got hard candy. Either there was something wrong with the recipe or my candy thermometer didt work. I have to admit I didnt have the patience to try it again. So I feel a little intimidated to try again. I have to get soft, creamy candy this time. Share the recipe! Thanks!!

  • Serina says:

    The recipe is from The Gourmet Foodie Blog, I put a link to it on my blog where is says “recipe here”. Check it out. My advice is to read all the directions very thoroughly and do not stir it at all. I’ve so far made three batches and they keep getting better and better. Candy thermometers are really fickle as well. Each time you use yours make a mental note as to what the consistence was when they turned out the best. Good luck, I know you can do it:)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Holiday Caramels at Cookies, Couture & Cardio.

meta

